Philosophy of Diagrams

This special track will be devoted to philosophical issues pertaining to diagrams.

Topics of Interest (Philosophy Track)

Special theme topics include any research on the philosophy of diagrams, such as:

  • aesthetic properties of diagrams,
  • diagrams for syllogisms,
  • diagrams in mathematical practice,
  • diagrams in the mind,
  • historical aspects of diagrams,
  • iconicity and naturalness of diagrams,
  • imagination,
  • philosophy of notation,
  • reasoning and argumentation with diagrams,
  • semantics of diagrams,
  • semiotics of diagrams,
  • square of opposition, trees and graphs,
  • the nature of diagrams and diagramming,
  • the work of C. S. Peirce,
  • visualization and intuition.

If the main research contribution of your submission is considered to be on the philosophy of diagrams you are strongly encouraged to submit to this track with its dedicated Program Committee.

[The details below are the same as for the main track, except for the dedicated Program Committee.]

Submission Categories

The Philosophy Track will include presentations of refereed Papers, Abstracts, and Posters, alongside tutorials, workshop sessions, and a graduate symposium.

We invite submissions for peer review that focus on any aspect of diagrams research, as follows:

  • Long Papers (16 pages)
  • Abstracts (3 pages)
  • Short Papers (8 pages)
  • Posters (4 pages – this is both a maximum and minimum requirement)

All submissions should include diagrams where appropriate.

Long Papers and Short Papers should report on original research contributions.

Submissions to the Abstracts category should report on significant research contributions, which may have been published elsewhere (such submissions must clearly cite prior work) or are intended to be published elsewhere. The contribution should be of a similar level to that expected of a Long Paper. Submissions to the Abstracts category will not be included as an archival contribution in the proceedings. Accepted Abstract submissions will be offered the same presentation time in the program as Long papers. High quality Abstract submissions that nonetheless fall short of the standard required for full acceptance may be accepted for a short presentation. The Abstracts submission category is not intended for work-in-progress; the Poster submission category should be used for work-in-progress.

Posters may report on original, yet early stage, research or on previously published research that is of interest to the Diagrams community (such submissions must clearly cite prior work).


The Proceedings will be published by Springer in their Lecture Notes in Computer Science series. The Long papers, Short papers, and Posters will be indexed by Springer, whilst the Abstracts will not.

Formatting Guidelines

All submissions must follow Springer’s LNCS formatting guidelines:

How to Submit

Submissions should be made by the respective deadline via EasyChair:

Program Committee (Philosophy Track)

Francesco Bellucci, University of Bologna, Italy
Jean-Yves Beziau, University of Brazil, Brazil
Jim Burton, University of Brighton, UK
Jessica Carter, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark
Jean-Marie Chevalier, Collège de France, Paris
Daniele Chiffi, Tallinn University of Technology, Estonia
Lopamudra Choudhury, Jadavpur University, India
Silvia de Toffoli, Stanford University, USA
Lorenz Demey, KU Leuven, Belgium
Maria Giulia Dondero, University of Liege, Belgium
George Englebretsen, Bishop’s University, Canada
Isobel Falconer, University of St Andrews, UK
Janet Folina, Macalester College, USA
Valeria Giardino, Université de Lorraine, France
Emily Grosholz, Pennsylvania State University, USA
Mikkel Willum Johansen, University of Copenhagen, Denmark
Brendan Larvor, University of Hertfordshire, UK
Catherine Legg, Deakin University, Australia
Javier Legris, CONICET – Universidad de Buenos Aires, Argentina
Jens Lemanski, FernUniversität in Hagen, Germany
Christina Ljungberg, University of Zurich, Switzerland
Danielle Macbeth, Haverford College, USA
Marco Panza, University of Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne, France
Ahti-Veikko Pietarinen, Tallinn University of Technology, Estonia
Yuri Sato, University of Brighton, UK
Atsushi Shimojima, Doshisha University, Japan
Sun-Joo Shin, Yale University, USA
Dirk Schlimm, McGill University, Canada
Jurgis Skilters, University of Latvia, Latvia
Hans Smessaert, University of Leuven, Belgium
Frederick Stjernfelt, Aalborg University of Copenhagen, Denmark
Jean Paul van Bendegem, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium